Granary District History
In 1929 Harry McDaniel went into the grain business on the site of the current Granary District with the purchase of a building beside Buchanan Cellers Mill , which was established in 1875 at what is today 5th & Alpine streets.
The McDaniel farmhouse was located on the site across from Wortman Park, on the road named after the family — McDaniel Lane.
Harry soon expanded his operation and built a feed mill, several outbuildings, and eventually a fertilizer plant on the site. He also owned an additional feed mill on Booth Bend Road. Harry’s sons Jim and John joined him in the late 1940’s, followed by Jim’s son Mike and John’s son Tim.
The business survived three separate fires set by an arsonist in the 1970’s, one of which destroyed the original grain mill on the property.
After three generations of operation, Jim McDaniel retired in 1985 after selling the Booth Bend feed Mill to Ralston Purina and the fertilizer plant to Western Farm Service. John McDaniel sold the seed plant to Kelly McDonald in 1995.
Kelly McDonald and fellow Granary District partners have reinvigorated the district with a vibrant mix of merchants including wineries, a brewery, coffee roaster, day spa and salon, and restaurants.
A founding part of the Granary District, Buchanan Cellers has a rich history of its own. Be sure to visit its website to learn more about this iconic business that is a part of McMinnville’s past and present.
Kind thanks to Kerry McDaniel Boenisch, Author, Speaker & Wine Judge, who provided this write up as well as her family’s archive of historic photos.